Seuter wins 1st Detjens Memorial title - WFXS, MyFoxWausau - News and Weather for Wausau, WI

Seuter wins 1st Detjens Memorial title


The driver that can win the Triple X Challenge wins $16,000. Mark Mackesy won the first leg at the Flip Merwin race and this weekend was leg number two.

The Larry Detjens Memorial race at State Park Speedway, presented by Newsline 9, featured 24 cars racing for 150 laps around the quarter mile track.

Mackesy started on the outside of the first row and led the first 54 laps until the first caution of the race. Mackesy would take the inside on the restart and three laps later, Chris Wimmer passed him on the outside in the backstretch. Wimmer would have the lead at the halfway break.

Then with 43 laps left, Wimmer loses the lead to Tim Sauter, who made the pass on turn number three.

Wimmer tried to close the gap when he got caught in a wreck with 14 laps to go. Colin Reffner's car collided with Wimmer's off the 1st turn. Wimmer's car was heavily damaged and he eventually pulled out of the race.

Sauter eventually won the Detjens Memorial for the first time in his career. Mackesy finished in second as the $16,000 will have to wait another year.

Powered by WorldNow
Home  |  News  |  Sports  |  Weather  |  Community  |  Money  |  Health  |  Entertainment  |  Inside FOX  |  About Us  |  LookItUp Wisconsin  |  Casino Chatter
Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WFXS. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.